Server Configuration

Under Configuration | Server, you can configure default settings that affect all the servers that Analytics monitors. Alternatively, you can select a specific server and then edit its settings - whether the server is set up using an Analytics Agent or if it is being monitored remotely. You can also add or remove a Remote server. The performance counters are those used by Microsoft to measure performance and create log events. For more information see Windows Performance Counter Alarm.

When you configure a new server for Analytics, there are permissions and other initial configuration that needs to be done before you can select some Server Settings in Configuration. For more information, see Initial Configuration.

Default Server Settings

To change settings that affect all the servers that Analytics is monitoring, go to Configuration | Servers where you can change the following settings:

Add or Delete an Event Log

You can add or edit event logs at the global level under Servers and these settings will affect all the servers monitored by Analytics, or you can add or edit event logs for individual servers under each specific server.

To add or delete an Event Log:

  1. Open Configuration | Servers | Event Log Information tab.

  2. If you are adding or editing a specific server's event logs, select Override Default Server Event Log Settings to activate the settings table.

  3. To create a new event log, click Add.

  4. In the table, move from left to right as you select settings.

    In each case, your selection activates and affects what the options are in the next column to the right. You may not be able to skip a column if it is dependent on the previous selection.

    Select the options in the following in sequence:

    • Provider: Select a log provider from the drop-down list. .

    • Log Type: Select the type of log you want to collect.

    • Log Level: Set the severity level of the log.

  5. To delete an Event Log, click Delete in the final column on the right.

Specific Server Settings

The degree that you can edit the settings for a specific server, depends on whether the server is a Hub server, an Agent server or a Remote server:

To change settings that affect a specific server, go to Configuration | Servers | [Name of server ] where you can change the following settings:

Add a Remote Server

Before you add a remote server, you must read the Configure Access to Remote Servers section under Initial Configuration.

To add a Remote server:

  1. In Configuration, at the bottom of the sidebar, click Add.

  2. On the Setup tab, enter the following information:

    • Fully Qualified Domain Name: Enter the machine name and the domain name, for example, MachineName.DomainName.com

    • Username: The name of a user who has full access to administer the remote server.

    • Password: The password of the above user.

    • Domain: The domain that the user belongs to.

  3. Click Save.

    A message indicates that the server is being added. When the process is complete, the server name appears in the sidebar under Servers and you can set more configuration options.

Remove a Server

When you remove a server, it no longer appears in Analytics and its collected information is no longer accessible.

If the server has an Analytics Agent installed, uninstalling the Agent removes the server from Analytics and all other resources found on that server; this is the preferred method to remove a server found via an Agent. If the server is already decommissioned, you can remove the server using the following method.

If the server has an Analytics Agent installed and the server is removed using the following method without the Agent being uninstalled, the server will reappear in Analytics.

When removing an Agent server using the following method, all other resources found on the server via the Agent will also be removed, such as ArcGIS Server, Essentials, Portal for ArcGIS, and so on.

To remove a server:

  1. In Configuration, click Servers.

  2. Click the name of the server you want to remove.

  3. Click at the top right.

  4. Click OK.