Layer List Settings

The Layer List component displays the available map layers and allows you to turn them off and on.

The Layer List settings include the following:

Main Settings

Layer Extensions

Select the layer list settings for each layer:

Layer Actions

Layer Actions: Configure the menu items in the menu beside each layer in the layer list.

Menu items have the following settings:

To add a menu item:

  1. In the Components panel, select Layers.

  2. In the Layer List panel, click +Add Menu Item.

    A window appears that lets you select a command, workflow or report.

  3. Click one of the following tabs as appropriate:

    • Commands: Select the command you want to run, and click Select.

    • Workflows: Select the workflow you want to run, and click Select. Alternatively, to create a new workflow, click Create a new Workflow. After adding the workflow, you can set its Title and Icon.

    • Reports: Select the report you want to run, and click Select.

  4. Click the new menu item to edit it.

  5. In the Menu Item panel, set the following:

    • Title: Type a title for this menu item as it will appear in the layer menu. For example, Zoom to Extent then Visible Scale.

    • Description: Type a description of what this menu item does. If you don't want a description of the menu item, leave it blank. For example, Zooms to the extent of the layer and then to the visible scale of the layer.

    • Icon: To select an icon to represent this menu item, click Select Icon, click the desired icon and click OK. To remove the icon, click Clear Icon.

    • Command: The command to run when a user clicks the menu item. A command is an action the app should perform.

      To select the command you want, click the box that contains the current command followed by . The list of available commands depends on the context of the component.

      Some commands have additional settings you can configure.

      To turn your command into a custom command, click . A code box appears in which you can manually edit the JSON code for the command. Turning your command into a custom command is a one-way operation. While editing the custom command in the code box, press CTRL+Space to access code suggestions. You can specify a sequence of multiple commands.

      To convert commands into a workflow, first click to customize the commands, and then click . Converting commands into a workflow cannot be reversed. This option is not available for on-premises Workflow installations that are not installed in the default installation folder.

      For example, the following custom command zooms to the extent of the layer and then zooms to its visible scale.

      [
        "map.zoom-to-layer-extent",
        "map.zoom-to-layer-visible-scale"
      ]

      The above example demonstrates how to pass the current context - the layer - as an argument into the map.zoom-to-layer-extent operation. The returned value of map.zoom-to-layer-extent, which is the same layer, is then automatically passed into the next command, map.zoom-to-layer-visible-scale. If you want to instead ignore the current context and supply your own argument to a command, see the example provided in Toolbar Settings.

    • Hide when Disabled: Whether to hide the menu item when the command cannot be executed.

    • Can be Toggled: Whether the menu item can be toggled between two states. If the menu item can be toggled, you can specify the behavior of the menu item for both states as well as whether the menu item is toggled by default.

To edit a menu item:

  1. In the Components panel, select Layers.

  2. In the Layer List panel, click the name of the menu item.

  3. Change the menu item settings you want.

To reorder a menu item:

  1. In the Components panel, select Layers.

  2. In the Layer List panel, click Edit Items.

  3. Drag the menu item up or down to the position you want.

  4. Click Done.

To delete a menu item:

  1. In the Components panel, select Layers.

  2. In the Layer List panel, click Edit Items.

  3. Click the Delete icon .

  4. Click Done.

Visibility Filters

Visible To

The Visible To settings determine which users and groups can access this component. If no users or groups are specified, all users can access this component by default.

The Hidden From setting overrides this setting.

To add a user:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Users.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the user you want to add.

    To quickly find a user, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the user.

To add a group:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Groups.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the group you want to add.

    To quickly find a group, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the group.

    There are three special groups that are always available even if no Esri groups have been configured:

    • All Users: Any user regardless of whether they are signed in or not.

    • Anonymous Users: Users who are not signed in.

    • Authenticated Users: Users who are signed in.

To remove a user or group:

  1. Click the X beside the name of the user or group.

Hidden From

The Hidden From setting determines which users and groups are explicitly forbidden to access this component.

This setting overrides the Visible To setting.

To add a user:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Users.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the user you want to add.

    To quickly find a user, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the user.

To add a group:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Groups.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the group you want to add.

    To quickly find a group, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the group.

    There are three special groups that are always available even if no Esri groups have been configured:

    • All Users: Any user regardless of whether they are signed in or not.

    • Anonymous Users: Users who are not signed in.

    • Authenticated Users: Users who are signed in.

To remove a user or group:

  1. Click the X beside the name of the user or group.

Layout