Map Settings

A group of settings related to the map, its layers, context menu, and start up event.

The Map settings include the following:

Main Settings

Map Settings

Layer Extensions

Add or remove layers for this map. You can also set the following on each layer:

Events

Context Menu

You can change any item in the context menu, which appears when the user right-clicks or long-presses the map. Add custom items to the menu or delete those you do not want.

Within each menu item, you can change the following:

To add a menu item:

  1. In the Components panel, select Map.

  2. In the Map panel, click +Add Menu Item.

    You can add a divider to the menu, which helps to organize related menu items. To add a menu divider, click beside +Add Menu Item and click Add Divider.

    A window appears that lets you select a command, workflow or report.

  3. Click one of the following tabs as appropriate:

    • Commands: Select the command you want to run, and click Select.

    • Workflows: Select the workflow you want to run, and click Select. Alternatively, to create a new workflow, click Create a new Workflow. After adding the workflow, you can set its Title and Icon.

    • Reports: Select the report you want to run, and click Select.

  4. Click the new menu item to edit it.

  5. In the Menu Item panel, set the following: 

    • Title: Type a title for this menu item as it will appear in the context menu when the user right-clicks or long-presses the map. For example, Run My Workflow.

    • Description: Type a description of what this menu item does. If you don't want a description of the menu item, leave it blank. For example, Runs my custom workflow.

    • Icon: To select an icon to represent this menu item, click Select Icon, click the desired icon and click OK. To remove the icon, click Clear Icon.

    • Command: The command to run when a user clicks the menu item. A command is an action the app should perform.

      To select the command you want, click the box that contains the current command followed by . The list of available commands depends on the context of the component.

      Some commands have additional settings you can configure.

      To turn your command into a custom command, click . A code box appears in which you can manually edit the JSON code for the command. Turning your command into a custom command is a one-way operation. While editing the custom command in the code box, press CTRL+Space to access code suggestions. You can specify a sequence of multiple commands.

      To convert commands into a workflow, first click to customize the commands, and then click . Converting commands into a workflow cannot be reversed. This option is not available for on-premises Workflow installations that are not installed in the default installation folder.

      For example, to create a menu item that runs a workflow, in the Command box, start typing Run Workflow and select the command when it appears. From the list of workflows that appears, select the workflow you want to run. The command becomes a custom command and code similar to the following appears in the code box:

      {
      "id": "1a2b3c4d-5e6f-1a2b-3c4d-5e6lucina14e",
      "inputs": {},
      "portalItem": "https://mycompany.maps.arcgis.com/sharing/rest/content/items/1c8eevee4b154mewsix894bff619a4d7",
      "commandArgumentInput": "myGeometryParameter"
      }

      The above example uses the commandArgumentInput property to specify which workflow input should receive the current context as its value, that is, the geometry of the selected point. By default, the commandArgumentInput property is set to context.

      You can also use the inputs property to supply values to workflow inputs. The inputs property is a key-value object, where the keys are the names of workflow inputs.

      The commandArgumentInput property overrides the inputs property.

      For more information, see Use the Menu Context as a Workflow Input.

    • Hide when Disabled: Whether to hide the menu item when the command cannot be executed.

    • Can be Toggled: Whether the menu item can be toggled between two states. If the menu item can be toggled, you can specify the behavior of the menu item for both states as well as whether the menu item is toggled by default.

    • Visible To: Determines which users and groups can access this component. If no users or groups are specified, all users can access this component by default.

      The Hidden From setting overrides this setting.

    • Hidden From: Determines which users and groups are explicitly forbidden to access this component.

      This setting overrides the Visible To setting.

To edit a menu item:

  1. In the Components panel, select Map.

  2. In the Map panel, click the name of the menu item.

  3. Change the menu item settings you want.

To reorder a menu item:

  1. In the Components panel, select Map.

  2. In the Map panel, click Edit Items.

  3. Drag the menu item up or down to the position you want.

  4. Click Done.

To delete a menu item:

  1. In the Components panel, select Map.

  2. In the Map panel, click Edit Items.

  3. Click the Delete icon .

  4. Click Done.

Layer Comparison

You can configure the map with a Layer Comparison tool, where an adjustable slider splits the map into two sides: the first side contains leading layers and the second side contains trailing layers. You can configure which layers appear on either side. Layers that are not added to either side appear on both sides of the map.

Constraints

Visibility Filters

Visible To

The Visible To settings determine which users and groups can access this component. If no users or groups are specified, all users can access this component by default.

The Hidden From setting overrides this setting.

To add a user:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Users.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the user you want to add.

    To quickly find a user, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the user.

To add a group:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Groups.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the group you want to add.

    To quickly find a group, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the group.

    There are three special groups that are always available even if no Esri groups have been configured:

    • All Users: Any user regardless of whether they are signed in or not.

    • Anonymous Users: Users who are not signed in.

    • Authenticated Users: Users who are signed in.

To remove a user or group:

  1. Click the X beside the name of the user or group.

Hidden From

The Hidden From setting determines which users and groups are explicitly forbidden to access this component.

This setting overrides the Visible To setting.

To add a user:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Users.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the user you want to add.

    To quickly find a user, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the user.

To add a group:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Groups.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the group you want to add.

    To quickly find a group, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the group.

    There are three special groups that are always available even if no Esri groups have been configured:

    • All Users: Any user regardless of whether they are signed in or not.

    • Anonymous Users: Users who are not signed in.

    • Authenticated Users: Users who are signed in.

To remove a user or group:

  1. Click the X beside the name of the user or group.

Layout