Printing Settings

You can adjust the print settings available when the user prints the map, including the print template settings, spatial reference grids and resolutions the user can select. The user is also presented with any input parameters the print template may have.

The Printing settings include the following:

Main Settings

Print Templates

Add print templates for the user to select. Print templates are created with VertiGIS Studio Printing. Each print template has the following settings:

To add a print template:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Print panel, click +Add Print Templates.

  3. Select one or more print templates. You can search for a print template by name or portal item ID. You can search print templates you own or print templates shared with you.

  4. Click Select.

To edit a print template:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Print panel, click the title of the print template.

  3. Change the print template settings you want.

To reorder a print template:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Print panel, click Edit Items.

  3. Drag the print template up or down to the position you want.

  4. Click Done.

To delete a print template:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Print panel, click Edit Items.

  3. Click the Delete icon .

  4. Click Done.

Spatial Reference Grids

Add spatial reference grids for the user to select that will appear when the map is printed. Each spatial reference grid has the following settings:

For a list of Well-Known IDS (WKIDs) and Well-Known Texts (WKTs), see Esri's Geographic Coordinate Systems or Projected Coordinate Systems.

To add a spatial reference grid:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. Click +Add Grid.

  3. In the Name box, type a display name for the spatial reference grid.

  4. Do one of the following:

    • In the WKID box, type the Well-Known ID of the spatial reference to use for the grid.

    • In the Well-Known Text box, type the Well-Known Text of the spatial reference to use for the grid.

    The WKID setting overrides the Well-Known Text setting.

To edit a spatial reference grid:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Print panel, click beside the spatial reference grid you want to edit.

  3. Change the spatial reference grid settings you want.

To reorder a spatial reference grid:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Print panel, click Edit Items.

  3. Drag the spatial reference grid up or down to the position you want.

  4. Click Done.

To delete a spatial reference grid:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Print panel, click Edit Items.

  3. Click the Delete icon .

  4. Click Done.

Resolutions

Add resolutions for the user to select in which to print the map. Each resolution has the following setting:

To add a resolution:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Resolution panel, click +Add Resolution.

  3. In the DPI box, type a number representing the Dots Per Inch (DPI) resolution.

  4. Click Select.

To edit a resolution:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Resolution panel, click beside the resolution you want to edit.

  3. Change the resolution settings you want.

To reorder a resolution:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Resolution panel, click Edit Items.

  3. Drag the resolution up or down to the position you want.

  4. Click Done.

To delete a resolution:

  1. In the Components panel, select Printing.

  2. In the Resolution panel, click Edit Items.

  3. Click the Delete icon .

  4. Click Done.

Visibility Filters

Visible To

The Visible To settings determine which users and groups can access this component. If no users or groups are specified, all users can access this component by default.

The Hidden From setting overrides this setting.

To add a user:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Users.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the user you want to add.

    To quickly find a user, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the user.

To add a group:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Groups.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the group you want to add.

    To quickly find a group, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the group.

    There are three special groups that are always available even if no Esri groups have been configured:

    • All Users: Any user regardless of whether they are signed in or not.

    • Anonymous Users: Users who are not signed in.

    • Authenticated Users: Users who are signed in.

To remove a user or group:

  1. Click the X beside the name of the user or group.

Hidden From

The Hidden From setting determines which users and groups are explicitly forbidden to access this component.

This setting overrides the Visible To setting.

To add a user:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Users.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the user you want to add.

    To quickly find a user, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the user.

To add a group:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Groups.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the group you want to add.

    To quickly find a group, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the group.

    There are three special groups that are always available even if no Esri groups have been configured:

    • All Users: Any user regardless of whether they are signed in or not.

    • Anonymous Users: Users who are not signed in.

    • Authenticated Users: Users who are signed in.

To remove a user or group:

  1. Click the X beside the name of the user or group.

Layout