Search Settings

The Search component finds spatial data and locations on the map.

The Search settings include the following:

Main Settings

Events

Search Cleared

The command to run when the user clears the search box. A command is an action the app should perform.

Some commands have additional settings you can configure.

To add a command:

  1. In the Components panel, select Search.

  2. If necessary, in the Search panel, click to expand the Events section.

  3. Under Search Cleared, click Select Command.

    A window appears that lets you select a command, workflow or report.

  4. Click one of the following tabs as appropriate:

    • Commands: Select the command you want to run, and click Select.

    • Workflows: Select the workflow you want to run, and click Select. Alternatively, to create a new workflow, click Create a new Workflow. After adding the workflow, you can set its Title and Icon.

    • Reports: Select the report you want to run, and click Select.

To turn your command into a custom command, click . A code box appears in which you can manually edit the JSON code for the command. Turning your command into a custom command is a one-way operation. While editing the custom command in the code box, press CTRL+Space to access code suggestions. You can specify a sequence of multiple commands.

To convert commands into a workflow, first click to customize the commands, and then click . Converting commands into a workflow cannot be reversed. This option is not available for on-premises Workflow installations that are not installed in the default installation folder.

To change the command:

  1. In the Components panel, select Search.

  2. If necessary, in the Search panel, click to expand the Events section.

  3. Under Search Cleared, click the box that contains the current command followed by .

  4. Select a command and click Submit.

To delete the command:

  1. In the Components panel, select Search.

  2. If necessary, in the Search panel, click to expand the Events section.

  3. Under Search Cleared, beside the current command, click .

Search

The command to run when the user performs a search. A command is an action the app should perform.

Some commands have additional settings you can configure.

To add a command:

  1. In the Components panel, select Search.

  2. If necessary, in the Search panel, click to expand the Events section.

  3. Under Search, click Select Command.

    A window appears that lets you select a command, workflow or report.

  4. Click one of the following tabs as appropriate:

    • Commands: Select the command you want to run, and click Select.

    • Workflows: Select the workflow you want to run, and click Select. Alternatively, to create a new workflow, click Create a new Workflow. After adding the workflow, you can set its Title and Icon.

    • Reports: Select the report you want to run, and click Select.

To turn your command into a custom command, click . A code box appears in which you can manually edit the JSON code for the command. Turning your command into a custom command is a one-way operation. While editing the custom command in the code box, press CTRL+Space to access code suggestions. You can specify a sequence of multiple commands.

To convert commands into a workflow, first click to customize the commands, and then click . Converting commands into a workflow cannot be reversed. This option is not available for on-premises Workflow installations that are not installed in the default installation folder.

To change the command:

  1. In the Components panel, select Search.

  2. If necessary, in the Search panel, click to expand the Events section.

  3. Under Search, click the box that contains the current command followed by .

  4. Select a command and click Submit.

To delete the command:

  1. In the Components panel, select Search.

  2. If necessary, in the Search panel, click to expand the Events section.

  3. Under Search, beside the current command, click .

Visibility Filters

Visible To

The Visible To settings determine which users and groups can access this component. If no users or groups are specified, all users can access this component by default.

The Hidden From setting overrides this setting.

To add a user:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Users.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the user you want to add.

    To quickly find a user, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the user.

To add a group:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Groups.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the group you want to add.

    To quickly find a group, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the group.

    There are three special groups that are always available even if no Esri groups have been configured:

    • All Users: Any user regardless of whether they are signed in or not.

    • Anonymous Users: Users who are not signed in.

    • Authenticated Users: Users who are signed in.

To remove a user or group:

  1. Click the X beside the name of the user or group.

Hidden From

The Hidden From setting determines which users and groups are explicitly forbidden to access this component.

This setting overrides the Visible To setting.

To add a user:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Users.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the user you want to add.

    To quickly find a user, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the user.

To add a group:

  1. In the menu on the right, select Groups.

  2. In the menu on the left, select the name of the group you want to add.

    To quickly find a group, click the menu on the left and start typing the name of the group.

    There are three special groups that are always available even if no Esri groups have been configured:

    • All Users: Any user regardless of whether they are signed in or not.

    • Anonymous Users: Users who are not signed in.

    • Authenticated Users: Users who are signed in.

To remove a user or group:

  1. Click the X beside the name of the user or group.

Layout