In VertiGIS Studio Access Control, permissions are used to determine user access to a GIS service resource.
To ensure your users can only see and edit the resources they need to work with, you can apply the following permissions to services, layers, fields, and geoprocessing tasks:
▪Visible: Allows the user to see the resource anywhere that it appears (layer list, map, search results, etc.).
▪Editable: Allows the user to see and modify the resource.
▪Denied: Prevents the user from seeing the resource in any context.
Access Control supports MapServer, FeatureServer , and GPServer services only. Unsupported services (e.g. GeometryServer) are listed in the Access Control Designer, but are not available for selection.
When configuring permissions for MapServer and GPServer services, only the Visible and Denied permissions are available.
Permissions are applied to a specific user or group of users. To apply any permission, you must know the name of the user or group.
When using Integrated Windows Authentication, users may be included in built-in privileged groups. These include:
▪Enterprise Admins: DOMAIN\Enterprise Admins
▪Domain Admins: DOMAIN\Domain Admins
▪Administrators: MACHINE\Administrators
Unless the user is running their web browser as an administrator user, the web adapter will not recognize these groups and any Access Control permissions configured for them will not be applied.
ArcGIS Server permissions control 'all or nothing access' to GIS services. VertiGIS Studio Access Control honors these permissions and uses them as the default permissions, until more fine-grained permissions are configured in the Access Control Designer. The following table shows how ArcGIS Server permissions map to default permissions in Access Control.
Service Type |
ArcGIS Server Permission |
Access Control Default Permission |
|---|---|---|
MapServer / GPServer |
Visible |
Visible |
FeatureServer |
Editable |
Editable |
FeatureServer |
Not Editable |
Visible |
MapServer / FeatureServer / GPServer |
Denied* |
Denied |
*If ArcGIS Server denies a user access to a service, you cannot use Access Control to override this permission and allow access.