Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Version:

Navigation: Reference

Preserve Layer Extension Settings When Updating a Web Map

Prev Top Next More

Many components in VertiGIS Studio Web store their configuration in layer extensions. Examples include layer presets, searchable layers and fields, layer visibility settings, and layer list configuration.

When you modify a web map after configuring your app, some changes can affect how layer extensions are associated with layers. In certain cases, existing settings are preserved automatically. In other cases, settings must be reviewed and reconfigured.

Use the following guidelines to help preserve layer extension settings when updating a web map:

Recommended workflow

Changes that preserve existing settings

Changes that may require reconfiguration

Best practices

Recommended Workflow

When you modify a web map that is already used by an application:

1.Save the web map after making changes.

2.Refresh App Designer.

3.Save App Designer.

4.Open any components that use the layer extension settings (for example, Layer Presets or Layer List) to allow Studio Web to synchronize the updated layers.

5.Test the app to confirm that settings are still applied as expected.

If layers have been renamed, removed, or replaced, verify that the related configuration is still associated with the correct layers.

Changes That Preserve Existing Settings

The following changes generally preserve existing layer extension settings.

Change

Result

Adding layers with sublayers

Existing preset remains functional. When the preset is applied, the new layer remains in the Layer List not affected by the preset.

The new layer does not appear in the preset’s JSON until you opens the preset. When opened a new section in the preset’s JSON is created for the new layer with default settings. You can now configure the preset settings for the new layer as desired.

Renaming parent layer

Existing preset remains functional for the layer and sublayers. The JSON for the existing preset remains unchanged and you are not required to open the preset.

Likewise, presets continue to work for layers renamed within a group layer.

Removing parent layer

Existing preset still works on remaining layers.

The preset’s JSON retains a reference to the removed layer, until you opens the preset which triggers a cleanup deleting the removed layer from the JSON.

Changes That May Require Reconfiguration

The following changes can cause existing layer extension settings to become disconnected from a layer.

Change

Result

Renaming a group layer

Existing preset is broken until you open the preset:

A new section is created for renamed group layer in the preset’s JSON.

The original section is removed from the JSON.

You must reconfigure the settings for the new group layer.

The preset configuration for the layers within the renamed group layer remains unchanged and work as before once the group layer is reconfigured.

Renaming a sublayer

Existing preset is broken until you open it:

A new section is created for the renamed sublayer in the preset’s JSON,

The old section is removed from the JSON.

You must reconfigure the settings for the new sublayer.

If the sublayer title is null or undefined, App Designer generates a default title using the sublayer ID. If you open the preset before the app is fully loaded, default titles may cause incorrect matching.

Removing and re-adding a parent layer

Existing preset is broken until you open it:

A new section is created in the preset’s JSON for the re-added/re-named layer and its sublayers,

The section containing the original layer and its sublayers is removed from the preset’s JSON.

You must navigate to the affected layer and sublayers to reconfigure the preset settings as desired.

Removing and re-adding a group layer

Existing preset is broken until you open it:

A new section is created for the renamed group layer in the preset’s JSON and the original section is removed.

You must navigate to the affected group layer and reconfigure the preset settings as desired.

Removing and re-adding a sublayer

Existing preset is broken until you opens it:

A new section in the preset’s JSON is created for the renamed sublayer and the old preset section is removed.

You must navigate to the affected sublayer and reconfigure the preset settings as desired.

Best Practices

To preserve layer extension settings when updating a web map, follow the best practices described in the table below.

Best Practice

Description

Save the web map before editing presets.

Ensures that all updates are captured and available to the app.

Refresh App Designer after making map changes.

Reloads the latest map configuration into App Designer so presets stay in sync.

Save App Designer after refresh.

Ensures the refreshed configuration is committed and available the next time you open App Designer.

Open each preset after making any layer changes.

Verifies that layers, sublayers, and settings are still correctly applied.

Wait for the app to fully load before editing presets.

Prevents partial loading issues that can cause missing or misaligned layers.

Avoid null or undefined sublayer titles.

Reduces errors in preset mapping. Make sure you use clear, consistent names.

Reset the configuration for renamed or re-added layers.

If you add, remove, or rename layers and sublayers so that they no longer match the preset configuration, you must reopen the preset and manually update the settings. 

If a layer, group layer, or sublayer is removed and then re-added, or renamed in a way that prevents it from being matched to its existing configuration, you must open the preset and reconfigure the affected preset settings.

 

© 2026 VertiGIS North America Ltd. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Center | Imprint
Documentation Version 5.43 (d9767435)